Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

How to quickly get vtec after turns

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2018, 05:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How to quickly get vtec after turns

I'm a noob to vtec however it seems to me unless you are in gear 2 it's always going to be hard getting vtec in gear 3 without long roads and less traffic.

What I meam to say is let's say you are taking a turn in gear 3, on coming out of the turn because you are in gear 3 it will take time for the rpms to go up so you can hit vtec again so not easy to do safely without a long road and less traffic. On the other hand if you are in gear 2 on coming out of the turn it will be quicker to increase rpms and get vtec Does that mean if you are in gear 3 and you really want vtec sooner, you would have to slow down, change to gear 2 and rev up until vtec kicks in? Is that what you guys are dong or am I missing something?

Do you guys take wide (as in big non sharp) corners in gear 2 so you can come out in vtec? It feels like the car wants you to take non sharp corners at gears 3 and big roundabouts at above etc going in gear 2 doesnt handle aswell. So what are you guys doing.

As far asI'm aware, the whole point of vtec is meant to be that you get the power when you want it, however imagine your racing someone, in order to stay in vtec you have to take corners at gear 2 because if you're in 3 its gonna be a while to get vtec again therefore you can't get the power when you want.

like i say im a noob but please advise how you guys take corners and how one would take the corner while trying to get vtec on coming out. What are the compromises?

Old 08-03-2018, 05:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Re: How to quickly get vtec after turns

depending on motor and ecu, depends on rpm and couple other factors when vtec engages
Old 08-03-2018, 06:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by egsleepercivic