Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2005, 12:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how much whp can the stock axle hold

on a b series
Old 04-15-2005, 12:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: how much whp can the stock axle hold (tha-Gr8-one8)

i've been making about 300WHP for five years on stock axles with no problems.that's about 80% street driving,with some drag strip use on drag radials and 24.5" slicks.
i replace them about every year and a half just as a precaution(with warranty from Autozone/Advance,why not? )
Chris
Old 04-15-2005, 12:52 PM

Default Re: how much whp can the stock axle hold (TeamNextGenChris)

dude thats cool
Old 04-18-2005, 09:39 AM

any one else?
Old 04-18-2005, 10:23 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Its not whp that matters is torque, and shock torque at that. 300whp/200lbft with a good driver and a soft use of the clutch will last. however a poor driver with a 6 puck ceramic will break axles even with a stock clutch. And downshift shocks are just as bad, so learn to heal toe or be gental with that clutch

The single worst thing you can do to an axle is sidestep the clutch in 1st with revs, you WILL break axles.

Strangeley enough proper drag radials are better due to the give in the sidewalls, racing slicks will be the worst
Old 04-18-2005, 10:30 AM
cool guy name

Default Re: how much whp can the stock axle hold (CivicESi)

It really depends on alot of things. My belief is the straighter the axle the stronger it is. I dont care how high my car is and what it looks like, if my axles are straight then I'm good to go. I also have a clutch type lsd, so when making a turn from a stop or a slow roll I'm not mashing the skinny pedal.
Old 04-18-2005, 11:35 PM

Default Re: how much whp can the stock axle hold (walker111)