Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

how do I pop the hatch? ('00 civic)

Old 03-02-2009, 10:38 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how do I pop the hatch? ('00 civic)

Hey guys,
New here - would appreciate some help/advice:
I just bought a used 2000 Honda Civic Special Edition hatchback... and I can't for the life of me find where the interior hatch release is. I drove an '88 civic hatch for the last 10 years, and the hatch release was on the floor just to the left of the seat. Where's this model's? Could they have made this car without an interior hatch popper? And the only way to open the hatch is by key? Crazy if so. I'm a musician and need to be able to release the hatch internally, without use of key (to let others get into the hatch and pull out gear without having to turn off the engine, pull the key and run around back - very inefficient). Is there a way to install something that will open the hatch internally if this model doesn't have an internal hatch release level? Advice? Recommendations?

Thanks!

- Brownman
Old 03-02-2009, 11:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: how do I pop the hatch? ('00 civic)

There is none, opens from the back of the tailgate,
Old 03-02-2009, 11:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

yea there should be a little lever to let you open it from the back.
Old 03-02-2009, 11:48 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Just smash out your back window.... easy access to your cargo anytime.
Old 03-02-2009, 11:49 PM
H-T White Ops

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts

Originally Posted by brownman911
Hey guys,
New here - would appreciate some help/advice: