Old 08-24-2006, 05:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to change/mount a wheel correctly

is this good?
http://www.harborfreight.com/c...r=807

Modified by mechanicnoob at 6:56 PM 8/27/2006
Old 08-24-2006, 05:25 PM

Default Re: how to change/mount a wheel correctly (mechanicnoob)

you know what a torque wrench is, but you dont know how to take a wheel off and put it back on???
Old 08-24-2006, 05:37 PM

I've never used a torque wrench on wheels before.
Old 08-24-2006, 05:42 PM
Unceasing Measure

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: how to change/mount a wheel correctly (TorquelessB16)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by TorquelessB16 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">I've never used a torque wrench on wheels before. </TD></TR></TABLE>

Then you're a moron.

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by mechanicnoob &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">hey guys, as you can see im a noob and i have a few questions ive been wanting to learn for a while now..

i want to swap my wheels and i know the tools needed are..

a jack, monkey wrench etc and a torque wrench.

the problem is i dont kno whow ot use the torque wrench. i dont know how many pounds etc or the correct way of torqing. i am not very paranoid because i know a few people who have stripped their studs due to not torqueing or not doing it correctly. if any of you can help and links to some good t wrenchs i would appreciate it!</TD></TR></TABLE>

You'll need a jack, a set of jackstands, some wooden blocks or "chucks" to put behind the wheels that aren't in the air, a tire iron or the appropriate socket to remove your lugnuts (probably 19mm) and a torque wrench to put them back on.

You do not need a monkey wrench, lol. I'm not even sure if you could use a monkey wrench to remove lugnuts.