Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

How bleed coolant on 96 Civic Ex...no bleed screw on thermo housing.

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2005, 07:44 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How bleed coolant on 96 Civic Ex...no bleed screw on thermo housing.

Thanks all, I am an amateur mechanic.

How do I bleed my coolant on 1996 Civic Ex? I have been told about a bleed screw on the thermostat housing, but I kid you not, there is not one located anywhere in or around it. I am having a problem with idling.

I was told to
1.) bleed the coolant
2.) clean out the IACV with carb cleaner ( 2 bolts to remove the IACV, tighten white screw, and spray with carb cleaner, let it dry completely and install) I do not have FITV. I looked it is not there.

My most pressing problem is that when I am in first gear, as I am pressing the gas pedal, the car gets off to a good start. However, at some point while in first gear, the car does not accelerate even though I am pressing the gas pedal even more. Shortly after, while still in first gear, the car has a sudden burst of energy as if I it was trying to catch up to the position of the pressed gas pedal. This is an intermittent problem that I have experienced while in first and second gear. I do not see this problem in any other gears; just first and second. Help me solve the problem and I promise to make a $20 donation as a thank you. I have replaced spark plugs, rotor and wires. Fully stock engine. If you want more info let me know. I could take this to a mechanic, but I am enjoying learning.

Thanks all.
Old 05-25-2005, 07:49 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: How bleed coolant on 96 Civic Ex...no bleed screw on thermo housing. (arielb1)

You can take the radiator cap off (when cold) start the car and leave the cap off. When the thrermostat opens if there is any air in the system is should come out thru the rad.