Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Honda Civic EK4 VTI Project

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2015, 04:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Honda Civic EK4 VTI Project

Hi everyone :D
So this my project that started all the way back to September 2014. I first bought the car 16th May 2014 and only started working on it in September because I first had to get the money to rent a garage and some tools and what not... anyways my main goal is to make it rust free and change the colour to Championship White (The Type-R Colour (NH-0)) and have a clean, fresh look to it. Since September I've come a long way, as I'm a student and have a Part-Time job to feed my passion .

The car looked like this when I first bought it.

Seeing the car every single day while it waited outside until I had the money to start working on it had me going impatient so I started removing some things and fixing some rust spots on the outside.

By here I already had rented a garage and started to work on the car right away.

Then me, my father and his best friend (A incredible good mechanic) started to remove the engine.

And finally after one days work with great help the engine was out! :D

I then cleaned the engine bay and wrapped the wires and the brake lines for the future painting.

I then ordered some parts as of 2x Tie Rods, 1x Ball Joint (only 1 because when I bought the car a new one was in the glove box ). Also bought 2x front wheel bearings and 2x Suspension Arm Bushes.

Few days after I bought the paint, 3 litres of paint, hardener and thinner

Championship White

Here I took all the rust that was in it, it wasn't much. Put primer and sprayed it black

Here is the engine bay already primed.

Also primed the front support

The black that is seen in the photo below is Undercoat Protection

The rear bumper support is completely rusted, as I sanded it a few holes appeared... Gotta get a new one but until then I'll have to use this one.