Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

HELP! 2000 honda civic sputtering when a/c turns on

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2011, 07:50 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 HELP! 2000 honda civic sputtering when a/c turns on

i am new to working on my car so i need some help.

here is the background:

the cars engine light turned on and was running sluggish since its been hot, just thought i needed an oil change. it was really hot the other day and i was in the car for a few hours with the ac at full blast.
the first problem was the ac would blow out hot when the rpms got high but would get cold again when the rpms dropped. then the next problem was when the rpms got high, the whole car power would drop severely and i would have to shut off the ac completely. then the last problem was when i turned the ac back on the car started shaking and sputtering and made this high pitched screeching sound like a belt was off or something.
i immediately seafoamed the engine; crankshaft, vacuum lines, etc; since i first thought the oil was all mucked up and it needed to be cleaned. the engines performance greatly improved and is running a lot better but still doesn’t feel like 100% when i test drove it after the treatment.
of course when i turned on the ac though, the engine did the same thing: shaking sputtering and screeching.

here are my questions:
1. what could this be: belt, compressor, im so new at this, im just guessing
2. can the ac be flushed to take care of problem? can compressor be flushed and new oil added
3. my engine just got replaced at the beginning of the year so since i have a warranty, this should be covered with the new engine, right?

i cant afford more money at the mechanics so i needed some advice before i have to take the car in.

thank you so much to anyone who reads this.

Last edited by jessicagonzales; 07-29-2011 at 07:53 AM. Reason: typos
Old 07-29-2011, 08:05 AM
Honda-Tech Member