Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

hello, i need help with side skirts...

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2006, 11:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hello, i need help with side skirts...

Hello fellow Civic owners,

This is my first time so be gentle. So first off, thank you for your help.

I have a 4 door 2000 Civic EX with a R33 (similar to a skyline) front and rear kit. I am thinking about getting side skirts to go with, but I am skeptical. I can't seem to find any polyurethane spyder side skirts and I'm afraid if I get fiberglass, it will fall off/crack/dent when I go over speed bumps. On the other hand, I heard that it doesn't matter if it's fiberglass or polyurethane for the side skirts.

What do you guys and gals think? Should I invest in something aesthetically pleasing, or is it not worth my time?

The side skirts can be found at http://visionautodynamics.com/interface.htm
I couldn't figure out how to insert a picture.

Emily from Austin
Old 07-12-2006, 11:37 PM
Honda-Tech Member

hide before the flamers come. theyll tell you (might not since you seem to be a girl) that it's ricer status and a waste of your time and that the current honda trend is JDM OEM look.

on to your question: polyurethane and fiberglass aren't exactly known for staying in 1 piece under stress. ABS plastic or better quality material is what you want if you're expecting your side skirts to live through some hits. If you have to choose between the two, i'd go polyurethane over fiber glass personally, cuz i know that fiber glass front lips will crack after 1 or 2 bangs.
Old 07-12-2006, 11:56 PM

just keep it clean
Old 07-13-2006, 12:35 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: (prison_snitch)

my hate for bodykits would be non-existant if they flowed well with the natural lines of the car. but they dont.

anyway