Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Head gasket change questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2018, 08:26 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Head gasket change questions

I'm going to change my head gasket on my mini me d15b7 blcok with z6 head. I'm going to use 3 layer oem y8 gasket. I'm wondering if I need to buy arp "torque liquid" for my head studs nuts. I'm new to this and want to learn how to fix my car right. . Also drop any additional information I need to know👍 thanks for the help👌🏻
Old 10-25-2018, 09:01 AM
Hysterically Calm

Received 562 Likes on 481 Posts
Default Re: Head gasket change questions

Do you have ARP head studs in it now or OEM head bolts?
Old 10-25-2018, 09:03 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts

Molybdenum disulfide - The service manual says to use motor oil, so obviously that is acceptable. But yeah, it is just a better lubricant. It ensures that more of the applied torque goes into stretching the screw than into friction and binding in the threads. It can be used on other fasteners, not just head bolts.
Old 10-25-2018, 09:37 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by TomCat39
Do you have ARP head studs in it now or OEM head bolts?
Yes I have arp studs now
Old 10-25-2018, 09:38 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by NukeNinja
Molybdenum disulfide - The service manual says to use motor oil, so obviously that is acceptable. But yeah, it is just a better lubricant. It ensures that more of the applied torque goes into stretching the screw than into friction and binding in the threads. It can be used on other fasteners, not just head bolts.
Okay so I just lube em up and torque to oem spec?
Old 10-25-2018, 10:03 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts

Oh, ARP studs. Okay. Go to the ARP website and download the instructions for those studs. They are probably the studs for the Z6. The ARP stud torque is higher than the OEM bolt torque.