Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Harsh Ride Over Bumps and Holes

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2018, 11:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Harsh Ride Over Bumps and Holes

I'm still fairly new to cars, at least in an enthusiast aspect, and this is also my first Honda (and oldest model vehicle) so please take this into consideration if I'm unaware of anything I probably should otherwise know.

I have a 96 Del Sol S that I've had for almost two months now. It is also my first manual vehicle and project car. Since getting the car, it's ride has felt rough over any road imperfections (but otherwise great on flat surfaces). And when I say rough, I mean I feel like I'm taking the brunt of the shock from the dips in the road and you can hear/feel the car shaking/thunking as it hits small pot holes. From what I had read, most people attribute that issue to blown shocks. Since I had also been planning to drop the height about an inch or so since the factory ride height is pretty tall, I decided to replace the original coilovers with a set of Progress CS-II 350F/250R coilovers. However, after getting them installed, the ride quality over road imperfections hasn't gotten any better - if anything it seems harsher, though the handling otherwise has improved. Since this is my first Honda, which from trying to research my problem, people say Hondas ride pretty stiff, and also the oldest vehicle I've owned, I'm not sure if I'm just expecting too much. But I've also driven my friend's 2012 Genesis 2.0T which has Megan coilovers (7kg/8kg) while I was trying to learn manual, and the ride on the Genesis is several times smoother than on my Del Sol and no where comparable when going over bumps and holes.