Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

GSR Swap Wiring Guide w/ pics ( as requested ) CEL

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2003, 04:15 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default GSR Swap Wiring Guide w/ pics ( as requested ) CEL

First, im NO wiring expert. All information contained here was gatherd from the HT web site and from my own personal experience recently when swaping a USDM GSR ODB 1 engine into my 92 CX. Everything I post relates to that particular swap. Other swaps may be similar but my goal is not to be a swap expert, but to share with others what worked for me. If anything here needs to be corrected or added to, simply add it; just make sure your right!

General Info
All 92 USDM Civics came pre-wired for vtec. Meaning no vtec related wires should be manually ran on 92 civics.

On my swap, I simply used the 95 GSR Wiring harness that came with the swap and connected it to the factory harness near the battery and near the master cylinder.

I only had to run 2 wires for my swap which included:

1 ) knock sensor
2 ) IAB ( Secondary Intake Runner Control )
3 ) Double Cheese Burger line. ( kidding )

On a p72 ECU, you will see this:

The two wires that we were concerned with on our swap were:
1)Knock Sensor Red/Blue D3
2)Secondary Intake Solenoid Pink/Blue A17

Lets first cover the Knock sensor wire.

On the Gsr wiring harness you will notice there is a pink wire with a blue strip that dosent continue through the connection on the stock civic harness. This is where I manually tapped into that wire, then simply extended it through the firewall to my ECU @ D3.

heres a pic of it being tapped in on the GSR harness:
( note its surrounded with black electrical tape on the left )