Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Got into an accident today! (56k nah)

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2003, 09:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got into an accident today! (56k nah)

On my way to work this morning traffic on I-81 south bound by Scranton, PA was all conjested because of an oversized load. Unfortunately, the flow of cars came to a sudden stop. I tried to stop before rear-ending a '99 chrysler and managed to only tap his bumper (no big deal). Instantaneously I was slammed into from behind. I guess he was following pretty close. I can't really be mad at anyone, it just kind of sucks. I'm in my last semester of school and had some good plans for the car and the motor (b18b) if I scored a decent engineering job this summer. Hopefully it will all work out.

I guess the reason that it's in this forum is because I'm looking for thoughts on whether or not you think it will be totalled (you guys know your body work). I have had my share of accident and I'm pretty good at guesstimating the costs, but for the most part they were front end damage (deer). I'm hoping it wont be, but given the age of the car and the severity of the damage (see pics) I'm not sure if they will total it. Not shown in the pics is my driver's seat which is broken. I still works but doesn't like to recline up or down and makes some awful noises.

I need some thoughts on what to do if it is or isn't totalled (pull the engine and suspension). Thanks for your help and the good thing is I'm ok. Just needed to vent.

Last year pics (only changes since pics were back to stock headlights and snow tires):

Accident:

Notice the tailgate is WAAAAY off and the rear window has about an finger sized gap now
Also look around the Gas Door :

Side panel buckled (not good):

These gaps were NEVER there (not good again):

And last the small scrape in the front:

Drive safe,
G