Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

A freind of mine says CAI could cause my gas mileage to go down?? and partial venting about a misinf

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2003, 12:37 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default A freind of mine says CAI could cause my gas mileage to go down?? and partial venting about a misinf

my friend and i are having a conversation and i make a comment about how i didnt get that much mileage from this tank of gas this week. then he says its because of my CAI. He said something about since it is letting in more cold air, my car is running rich (? im not that technicall inclined) which is causing my engine to pump out more fuel to compensate, and that is the reason my mileage went down.

it seemd like he pulled this out of his ***. or could he be telling the truth? cuz his statement just seemed absurd because i've had my intake for about 6months now and i never noticed my overall gas mileage going down. he swears he's a guru of honda's (i'm not claiming to be one either) yet he drives an ep3 and thinks that the thing kicking in at 3000rpm is his VTEC, but ive read enough articles about the differences between the k20a2 and k20a3 engines to know that it is his extra valves opening up (VTEC-E), and not a more agressive cam engaging, like the VTEC engines we are accustomed to. But i didnt want to tell him cuz he'd be depressed. and i cant tell you how many times he made the comment "my VTEC kicks in so early, that is why my gas mileage is so bad." but i say in my head "no way man, its cuz you run your fuggin A/C 24/7 and redline in every gear!"

so my question is, is he full of it (about the CAI / gas mileage issue) ? or telling the truth?
Old 11-08-2003, 12:44 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: A freind of mine says CAI could cause my gas mileage to go down?? and partial venting about a mi