Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Frankenstein Sohc D-Series Build

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2015, 09:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everyone! As the title states i am going to be building a Sohc frankenstein using all oem parts if possible but might go aftermarket depending on where i am at for power. I am not looking to take this to the track or do anything crazy.

Gonna be a daily driver/roadster. Power wise, i aim to get to as close to 140whp.

These are the parts i am working with:
D15B non vtec; complete block, pm3 pistons, pm3-13 head, stock valves
Sohc Zc non vtec; complete block, pm7 pistons D16Z6 ( PO8 ) head, stock valves
PO8 intake manifold D16Y8 rods
S20 B0000 tranny

I am fairly new to engine work but got a engine stand and already got the D15B torn down and Zc almost torn down. Vtec head ( PO8 ) is almost ready to be put back together, waiting on gaskets and debating a port and polish.

The engine will be going in a 93 Civic Hatchback. Was debating getting a motor bard but all the blocks serial #s i believe are obd0.

So trying to get an upgrade from the D15B7. Any advice will be much appreciated and i will be sure to include pictures!

Last edited by ChangoLoco; 04-05-2015 at 09:56 PM.
Old 04-05-2015, 09:23 PM
Trial User

Default Re: Frankenstein Sohc D-Series Build

You still need to BAR a motor that was available and came with car?
Old 04-05-2015, 09:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

No. Just going for an all motor project to take me across the states for a cross country trip mainly. Got my suspension all done with rear disc so the motor is the only thing left. Gonna keep the B7 for smog or just drop the D15B block later on and bar that and swap between that and the frankenstein.
Old 04-05-2015, 09:59 PM
Trial User

Originally Posted by ChangoLoco