Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Flywheel or input shaft?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2015, 06:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flywheel or input shaft?

Hello everyone I'm new to Honda tech first time posting. I don't really do this but this time I have no idea what's wrong with my car. So I'm hoping somebody on here can help me. Let's get to the point.

2000 Honda Civic si b16a2 s4 trans
Has a brand new competition clutch kit. Changed it out because it was making a throw out bearing noise.
Clutch included pressure plate, pilot bearing and throw out bearing.
Installation was easy no problems. I got a competition flywheel 12lbs when I came to put the pilot bearing in, it was loose it will go in by hand and I can push it out by hand. Anyways I got that issue fixed now bearing goes in using a hammer. Installation was easy no problems what's so ever everything torque to spec! But when I came to turn on the car the noise was still there?? And even louder.

No here is where it becomes confusing!
So from what I know clutch pedal in makes noise clutch pedal out doesn't make noise means throw out bearing. Mine is the other way around
When I push my clutch pedal all the way down the noise stops when clutch pedal is up the noise is there. When I'm driving. And I push the clutch pedal in to change gears the same noise appears. Hmmm that's weird.

So get this if I play with the clutch pedal engage and disgange I can make the noise go away and come back even in neutral. I can make it completely go away even with clutch pedal out or in. Weird right?

Please Simone help me out give me some ideas
Feel free to ask any questions and give some input
Flywheel or input shaft?
Also I took the transmission down to see if my input shaft was loose or wiggly and it's not.
Double checked pilot/throw out bearing both are good and greased.
Thanks in advanced
Old 08-01-2015, 06:49 PM
I never narc'd on nobody!