Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

few engine mod questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2008, 09:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default few engine mod questions

lookin for some insight, H-T. I'm lookin into putting a bunch of time/money into my d16a (sohc vtec) motor; pistons, rods, cams, etc.

a) which should i do first, does it matter, or should i save up and buy them all at once?
b)what brands should i get? i was lookin into getting skunk2 camshaft and eagle rods, but idk about pistons...
c)high or low compression pistons? im gonna be running boost but not for a little while till i can afford a turbo. so should i buy high compression pistons untill i get my turbo?

any other info would be greatly appreciated, im pretty new to the whole opening my engine thing.
Old 01-02-2008, 09:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: few engine mod questions (d[sick]sTeena)

My Single has the whole head done in Skunk2 Parts not cheap but i think it was worth it. I have Eagle Rods and factory pistons
Old 01-02-2008, 09:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: few engine mod questions (cln92eg)

whole head meaning camshafts, retainer clips, and valve springs?
Old 01-02-2008, 09:56 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Cam, Cam Gear, Dual Valve Springs, .005 Oversized Valves , and Retainer Clips,
Old 01-02-2008, 10:01 PM
Honda-Tech Member

how hard was installing all that stuff?
Old 01-02-2008, 10:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member

With all the right tools it was easier then I though but I still had help from my buddy at his shop so the only thing i couldnt do was the .005 Over Sized Valve and port and polish and port match
Old 01-02-2008, 10:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by d[sick &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">sTeena] how hard was installing all that stuff?</TD></TR></TABLE>