Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Exhaust studs stripped

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2017, 05:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon5 Exhaust studs stripped

Hi all, I'll say sorry in advance if it seems like I don't know what I'm talking about because I really only know what my brother has helped me with with cars.

So I recently bought a 1999 CX, and it's missing one of the exhaust studs. Upon further investigation, it looks like the pin that was in place has stripped the thread where it was screwed in. My birther said the likely solution would be use a tap, does that make sense? Can someone explain that to me? Keeping in mind I'm pretty new to cars, though my brother did show me where it was missing and how it worked. Thanks in advance!
Old 04-29-2017, 05:54 PM
Hysterically Calm

Received 562 Likes on 481 Posts
Default Re: Exhaust studs stripped

If you can provide a picture of the spot it's missing that might help. Aftermarket exhaust tends to be bolt and nut, and on both stock and aftermarket, one junction uses spring bolts.

Stock exhaust tends to have studs and nut setups.

Seeing exactly what you are describing would be helpful for others to provide you the most accurate feedback.
Old 04-29-2017, 06:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by TomCat39
If you can provide a picture of the spot it's missing that might help. Aftermarket exhaust tends to be bolt and nut, and on both stock and aftermarket, one junction uses spring bolts.

Stock exhaust tends to have studs and nut setups.

Seeing exactly what you are describing would be helpful for others to provide you the most accurate feedback.

So as you can see, the stud on the right has an extra nut on the end. It is loose because the hole it screws in to is stripped. The one to the right of it is completely gone as it is also stripped.

Last edited by RichterFry; 04-30-2017 at 04:29 AM. Reason: Typos
Old 04-30-2017, 06:43 AM
Honda-Tech Member