Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Erratic Idle(96 civic)

Old 10-20-2014, 05:24 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Erratic Idle(96 civic)

I am new to the Honda-tech site so if I am doing something wrong or posting in the wrong place correct me. I have a 1996 civic 5 speed DX so the d16y7 engine and I have been having fluctuating idles when parked. I do not have a tach so I don't know the exact rmps in which it goes up and down. I plugged the whole TB and the engine idles at the correct rpms and does not fluctuate. I also replaced the IACV, throttle body gasket, the intake manifold gasket and swapped TBs and still have had no luck and I am at kind of a loss of where to go from here. If someone could walk me through the troubleshooting process I'd be more that happy.
Old 10-20-2014, 05:37 PM
Steve at Heart

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Re: Erratic Idle(96 civic)

What do you mean you plugged the whole TB? Have you adjusted the screw at all?
Old 10-20-2014, 06:04 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I took off the intake system so I could see the top of the throttle body and place my hand over the whole TB. And no I haven't adjusted the screw.
Old 10-20-2014, 06:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Bleed the cooling system of air per factory service manual.
Old 10-20-2014, 08:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I will tomorrow and I'll keep you posted
Old 10-21-2014, 04:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I have done the same thing and I have had the same problems. Fluctuating idle still after I have cleaned and adjusted the IACV and the FITV, replaced the TB gasket and checked for vacuum leaks with carb cleaner. I guess I'll have to try that next.
Old 10-21-2014, 05:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 43 Likes on 21 Posts

Post the CEL codes.
Old 10-22-2014, 06:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member