Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

EG civic B series swap start problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2016, 01:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon4 EG civic B series swap start problem

Hey Honda-tech, I want to give a quick introduction that I am a new member as I finally registered an account.
I have been on these forums many times to find problems that I had to my Honda and reading the forums
here solved so many problems. Even gave me the motivation to do my own build. So now I am finally stuck
somewhere and can't find the problem.

So this is my first project car. EG civic hatchback with a b20z1 block and a gsr head. I did the whole build
myself except when I shipped my block to golden eagle to get it ported and my head also ported somewhere
else. After putting everything back together and mounting back into the engine bay it was time to start up.

The first time I turned the key all the lights on the dash was on, everything was working so far. After turning the
key to make it turn over nothing happen but the fan started spinning. Stopped there to check the web to see what I
need to check. (fan stopped spinning after awhile)

The next time I worked on the car. I tried to test the car if it would turn over this time but instead it completely turns
off with no power to the dash lights nothing worked. Gave up and went to to do more research.

This time I decided to clean all the grounds and positive wires, check all fuses with a light tester. Cleaned the one on the starter, thermostat housing
and the negative battery wire. When I went to start it all lights came back on and the car was cranking, I cranked it
about 2 seconds and decided to stop. I decided to give it a little more battery power so when I plugged it in for
it to charge it, then all the power died again.

So far I did a Voltmeter test and it seems like there is power running through the engine bay. The plastic piece for the clutch is