Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

DIY: Krylon Wrinkle Red SOHC Valve Cover.....

Old 03-30-2007, 01:07 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default DIY: Krylon Wrinkle Red SOHC Valve Cover.....

Well I have quite a few friends with Type R's and i even impressed them a little bit lol... To start off with, I was bored of looking at my chipping black paint valve cover, so I decided instead of being riced out an doin some Mugen valve cover swappage "no TRUE mugen SOHC valve covers BTW" that i'd do my own lil paint job, an since i've never done it before i thought i'd take pictures. Again, I've never painted anything before and, well to my suprise it actually came out really good so i decided to make a lil write up for maybe some with questions or whatever, feedback welcome... Even if its flameage i'll take it in but consider i've never done this before and gathered as much info as i could prior to starting..

Supplies..

1. This is my chipping *** valve cover before.

2. I used a small paint brush an brushed on Aircraft Paint remover then waited about 10 minutes an it literally was falling off with little help.

3. After I got all the old paint off i washed off valve cover with water an soap than rinsed completely off an dried. Looks shiny huh ;-)

4. Now its time for first coat of primer, it was late and all the stores were closed but i was determined so after a ravage through my garage i found a small can of primer that never was used.. Talk about luck huh
And what it looks like out of the can..

5. 2nd coat of primer..

6. Luckily after I read a post on here of this paint being only .01 cent at Autozone i checked into it an my local store had 1 can left at 1 cent lol, so needless to say "IT WAS MINE...!!'

7. Yes you will sweat during this mission, pretty boys BEWARE..!!

8. Time for 1st coat of red paint..