Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Dashboard lights go dim when park light and headlights turn on (alternator replaced)

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2012, 11:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dashboard lights go dim when park light and headlights turn on (alternator replaced)

Hi guys. I'm a newbie here and we just bought a 1995 Honda Civic automatic. We had some problems with the alternator as it can't generate enough electricity to keep the power of the car so it ran from battery power and always got drained. We had it checked out and it was burned diodes. We traded it for a newly built one and the cars seems to be running fine after a day of testing. We did notice though that the dashboard lights (A/C, Transmission, etc.) and the clock dims when the park light or headlights are turned on. Is this normal? the dashboard lights don't dim when other things that require a lot of voltage are turned on like the A/C, wipers, etc. Before with the previous alternator, the radios turn on and off, the power windows barely work, and the engine stops when not revving. Those things were gone so far with the new alternator, but the dimming lights when the park and headlights are on, I dunno if that's normal or not. Also, there's no dimmer switch on the left side of the steering wheel (above the side mirror controls), I've seen pictures of the dashboard with switches there, but there's non on our car, just a red dot light at the bottom.
Old 07-16-2012, 11:32 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Re: Dashboard lights go dim when park light and headlights turn on (alternator replac

The interior lights dimming when you turn on the exterior lights is normal.
Old 07-17-2012, 07:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Dashboard lights go dim when park light and headlights turn on (alternator replac