Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

D16Z6... need suggestions for build up please...

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2005, 04:34 PM
* B A N N E D *

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default D16Z6... need suggestions for build up please...

Okay I know this is kind of a general question, but here goes anyways.
I just bought a '93 Civic EG with a 1.6 SOHC VTEC. This is my first Honda and it's bone stock. My first mods are going to go as follows:
Password Power Chamber intake (should be arriving anyday now)
Short trow shifter (also should be arriving soon)
Header with a 2.5" collecter
2.5" full exhaust no cat, with a MagnaFlow muffler (found it on Kteller for$185.00)
Chipped ECU, my friend is going to tune it. I hear he's good.

Does that sound like a decent start? If so, where should I go from there? I am on
a slightly tight budget so I have to make my modifications with time. Remember I am new to the Honda scene and I'm just looking to take on a few Mustang V6's or Firebird V6's and a guy with a Celica GT for now... can this be done easily on an all motor D16? Thanks for the advice and suggestions. The new guy

Modified by yeah_its_slow at 6:19 PM 11/10/2005
Old 10-24-2005, 05:31 PM
Mr. Fuch-yu

Default Re: D16Z6... need suggestions for build up please... (D16_vtec93)

To be quite honest dude, I hate these type of answers, but you might want to save your money for a turbo if you plan on running with mustang and firebird v6's. I understand that you are on a tight budget, but it really shouldn't take that long to save up enough $$ for a turbo. This past summer I was able to save up a little more than 3 grand by just not allowing myself to buy stupid crap that I didnt really want. If I can do it, I know you can. With just a bolt on turbo kit, you wont be able to run boost much higher than 8psi but that will be good enough to put you on the same level as a b16 with mild mods. Hope this helps.

-Red
Old 10-24-2005, 05:39 PM