Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

D16Z6 front crank seal/oil pan

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2008, 10:37 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default D16Z6 front crank seal/oil pan

Hi guys, I'm new to this forum. So....hello! I'm not new to cars, but somewhat new to Hondas. I got a 92 Accord as a runaround and I'm lovin it. Anyway, I'll get to it. I work on a 95 Civic EX quite a bit for a good friend, mostly maintenence stuff, and it is due for a timing belt. I am not scared of doing these...I was a tech at Chrysler and I've done a fair share of t-belts. But there is one big question I have about doing this Civic. When looking up the crank seal on NAPA, they say "w/ Engine Code D16Z6 Oil Pan Gasket Required". I've researched this extensively with no luck including this forum.

So...can anyone tell me why exactly you have to take off the pan to do the crank seal on this particular engine and anything else that might be involved? I'm sure some will say not to mess with it, but there is an oil drip on the bottom of the lower timing cover and with 13 years and 150k on the car and it likely not having been done at the first belt, it probably wouldn't be a bad idea to do that while I'm in there. Thanks for any help.
Old 03-29-2008, 10:53 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: D16Z6 front crank seal/oil pan (hmbtjc29)

The crank seal is opposite the timing stuff (obviously), and there's a cover that goes over it (or rather, around it). The cover is... I believe only 4 bolts. Pretty easy. When you put it back on, just clean the surfaces and run a bead of Hondabond along it.

Edit: sorry, sort of misread your question. You need to take the oil pan off because some of the oil pan studs are going into the main seal cover. Hope this helps.

Modified by Toroke at 12:04 PM 3/29/2008

Modified by Toroke at 12:48 PM 3/29/2008
Old 03-29-2008, 11:13 AM

Default Re: D16Z6 front crank seal/oil pan (Toroke)