Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

D15b7 eg overheating issue. I've read it all, and yet no cure.

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2007, 06:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default D15b7 eg overheating issue. I've read it all, and yet no cure. HELP!!

Thank you guys for helping me out, i'm new to cars in general but im trying, and im proud to be a part of the honda team.

I just got my first car a couple weeks ago, its a 94' Civic Hatch DX Auto. Car's got a new temperature sensor and about 148k and it ran fine when i got it. As i inspected it i noticed there was too much oil so i changed the oil to the normal level. Just about 1 week ago i noticed that the temp gauge was 2/3rds way to the redline when sitting at idle or in stop and go traffic. but on the highway or at constant speeds the temp gauge shows perfect. i put a new tstat in it, and flushed and replaced the coolent. after doing so i drove the car again and notcied that the car still had the overheating poblem... *sigh* but this time the temp gauge sits at 1/3 of it when i drive at steady speeds and jumps past half-way when the car sits idle or is in stop and go traffic.

- i've already checked my coolent level, and it is fine.
- i've already bleeded my coolent system a series of times and NOTICED BUBBLING and I'M NOT POSITIVE IF MY HOSES OR RADIATOR CAP ARE LEAKING.
- i've also checked to see if my engine fan operates and it does, but it starts working when temp gauge is at 2/3rds when idleing.

i've heard too many different possibilities for the cause of this problem and my biggest worry is that i probably have a blown headgasket. so thanks again for reading this lengthly post and plase help me.

Modified by mizzoeg at 9:45 PM 7/5/2007
Old 07-05-2007, 06:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

replace the radiator cap..start from there
Old 07-05-2007, 06:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts