Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

D15b vtec ping /knock issues! Smog HELP - SEARCHED!

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2015, 08:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default D15b vtec ping /knock issues! Smog HELP - SEARCHED!

Let me preface this by saying that I have been fighting this issue for a while (a few years) off an on. Everything I have done I have tried to do by the book and not cheat anything, but for the life of me I can't seem to get motor to run absolutely correct (and for CA smog non the less). I will try and give you guys any and all info that I can think off so I don't waste a lot of time with the basic crap that most over look and are not willing to put in time to do right. I have built many engines (specifically Honda) over the last 15 years and of course this one is stumping me. Anyhow here goes.....

92 Civic CX
ODB1 D15b vtec (P08) with matching non chipped P08 ECU
bottom end 100% stock.
top end has mild port match and polish and head milled .040
Y8 intake manifold port matched with b16 TB
only bolts ons at the moment are B&M adjustable FPR (set at 42 psi) / Fuel pressure gauge and a Skunk 2 adjustable cam gear. - I also have a Apexi VAFC, but doesn't even have any correction curves set until 2500+ RPM ---- AND YES that was tuned on a dyno (not the butt dyno), but with an Apexi 4-1 header and a AEM cold air intake (not currently in the setup).

I built this motor from the ground up about 5 years ago. Had a huge issue running lean and didn't realize that I had accidentally threw in 190cc injectors from a CX motor I had. Swapping to 240cc's solved a lot of my issues.

This is my main fight now - passing Smog. Failed again today with these numbers:

15MPH - RPM 1778 - %C02 14.7 - %02 0.0 - HC (PPM) MAX 108/ Measured 200 - C0% MAX .57 / Measured 0.27 - NO (PPM) MAX 835 /Measured 49 = Fail for HC