Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Cutting coil springs... some clarification

Old 09-21-2009, 05:32 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cutting coil springs... some clarification

I have been doing some research lately regarding inexpensive suspension setups. It seems that there have been alot of uninformed decisions regarding modifications to springs. I would like to try to help by simply providing a little more information.

It seems to be a popular opinion that cutting stock springs is a bad idea. Many people say it is bad because they speak from experience. The truth is that there is an acceptable range for anything. The following calculations are based on my own measurements of several springs and on the spring rate calculator I found at racingsuspensionproducts.com.
I am a mechanical engineer and I know that there is an equation for determining the rate of a coil spring based on the wire diameter, the average spring diameter (inside+wire dia), and the number of active coils. The first coil on each end sits against the spring perch and does nothing to hold the weight of the vehicle and is therefore inactive.

I realize that Honda springs are slightly tapered at the bottom which yields a "progressive rate", but there is minimal taper, and a minimal effect on the calcuilation.

My first consideration was a stock 99 Integra LS front spring with roughly 3.75in OD, .475 wire diameter, and 10 active coils. This comes out to be around 208 lbs/in spring rate. If you were to cut 1 coil off the top, the rate changes to 231 lbs/in and the height would drop around 1 inch. This change would have a minimal effect on ride quality and slightly improve the handling of a lightly modified or otherwise stock car. 2 coils off increases the rate again, to 260 lbs/in. 3 coils ups it to 297 lbs/in.