Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Curious about crankshaft pulleys

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2015, 08:04 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Curious about crankshaft pulleys

So this is my first time on a Honda forum as I am a new Honda D series owner. I have a good start with a fresh rebuild on a d16y8. I'm a middle class guy so it is going to be a little while before I can cam the vehicle and forge the internals. I have come to the end of the list of things that I can bolt on to mod the motor. I have read a ridiculous amount of forums leaning towards and against putting lightweight pulleys or a harmonic damper pulley on. I've decided that I'm going to do one or the other and I am pretty strong headed when it comes to doing things my way. So I would be very interested in hearing opinions on which I should do and the reasons for doing one or the other.
Old 08-30-2015, 08:25 PM
Stancetard Hate Monger

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Curious about crankshaft pulleys

dont bother with either. zero benefit.
Old 08-30-2015, 08:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 31 Likes on 28 Posts

Not worth it.

"Bolt on" a turbo. Be happy.
Old 08-30-2015, 08:41 PM
Dur Da Dur

do you already have a light weight flywheel?

make sure you get your new pulley balanced before you install it, people have commonly reported aftermarket pulleys to cause engine damage, probably from being unbalanced
Old 08-30-2015, 08:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member