Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2007, 11:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crank pulley bolt broken again, v3.0.wtf

Background:

1994 EX Coupe, 5speed
Originally D16Z6, now JDM D15B

Ok, so about 4500miles ago, my 185k D16 decided to break the crank bolt. No big deal, the engine was tired anyway, so I bought a D15B from Hmotors, put a timing belt/water pump/clutch on it, and dropped it in. Everything went fine, car ran great. Around the time of the first oil change, 3000miles, crank bolt broke off in the crank. 2nd time this had happened, first time on the new engine. So, I get it drilled out, replace the bolt/keyway/crankpulley, and continue on my way. Now, roughly 1500miles later, the bolt breaks again. I have seen the bolts break on customer cars, maybe 2 times total, on 2 different cars. This has now happened to me 3 times in less than 5000miles. I have been working on these cars for a few years, I'm not a moron, but what the hell am I overlooking? SOMETHING is going on here, and I have no idea what. Also, all 3 times it has happened, it has been below 3000rpm, probably less than 15-20% throttle. First time, I wasn't even in the car, just letting it warm up in the parking lot! Second was in stop and go traffic, and the third tonight was in a neighborhood at about 20mph.

WTF is going on???
Old 04-18-2007, 11:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Crank pulley bolt broken again, v3.0.wtf (Drag_S14)

honda hates u j/k, just some bad luck. sorry to hear it
Old 04-18-2007, 11:48 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Crank pulley bolt broken again, v3.0.wtf (gato5254)

you sure you didnt overtorque. honda says to replace the bolt everytime its cracked loose. i always torque them down to 130ft lbs with some thread lock on it, never had a problem in the 3 yrs i been doing it
Old 04-19-2007, 12:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Crank pulley bolt broken again, v3.0.wtf (fmrprojects)