Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

cold air intake question

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2004, 08:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cold air intake question

I am thinking about buying a cold air intake, not for performance or anything because of my lack of money for other parts, but for improved gas mileage. Do could air intakes really improve your gas mileage, and if so, why don't car companies include them on their cars? or is there some negative effect to them?

I know this is probably a lame question but I'm new to cars so.....

Thanks
Old 02-22-2004, 08:36 PM
Risky Business

Received 47 Likes on 39 Posts
Default Re: cold air intake question (jerm001)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by jerm001 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Do could air intakes really improve your gas mileage, and if so, why don't car companies include them on their cars?</TD></TR></TABLE>

1. Not really
2. They are loud

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by jerm001 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">is there some negative effect to them?
</TD></TR></TABLE>

Yep...if you drive though a puddle this happens:
Old 02-22-2004, 09:07 PM

Default Re: cold air intake question (BauleyCivic)

wow--
Old 02-22-2004, 09:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

an intake will probably decrease your milage... more air = more fuel consumed
Old 02-22-2004, 09:18 PM

Default Re: (dantastic)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by dantastic &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">an intake will probably decrease your milage... more air = more fuel consumed</TD></TR></TABLE>
That's correct.
Spending money to save money is not really an option in modding a car.
Old 02-22-2004, 09:18 PM

more power = more gas
Old 02-22-2004, 10:10 PM
Honda-Tech Member