Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Clutch is engaging way too early...

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2008, 06:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch is engaging way too early...

My car is a 95 civic with a exedy clutch/flywheel and it's been fine for as long as I can remember. I was doing some spirited driving for about 30 minutes the other day and now when I go to push the clutch down it does nothing the first few inches. And the engagement point is pretty much a 1/4 inch from the floor. The thing is the clutch was working perfectly fine last night and this morning as I was going to work it just felt weird. I was thinking it might be because I was wearing my work shoes or something. It wasn't a huge difference but I noticed something. I even stalled it which I have never done before. Then after about 10 hours I head home and park it. Late in the day I go out and the engagement point is even lower now. And it pretty much wont go into gear. I mix these the words up a lot but the valve at the base of the clutch pedal is leaking. I'm pretty sure thats the master cylinder. Goes through the firewall and you can add clutch fluid. And the slave cylinder is on/in the tranny.

What I'm just wondering is would the leaking on what I call the master cylinder cause that? If so I'm gonna have to replace it tomorrow because if it keeps going how it is it wont even be able to get into gear tomorrow. Luckily I'm off. So I'll let ya guys know. Thanks

Brent
Old 05-02-2008, 06:42 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Clutch is engaging way too early... (domestic_rice)