Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Clutch

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2004, 06:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch

Ok, this isn't for a honda, but I really don't know where else to ask, so go ahead and delete this post if you want. I've got a 86 izuzu p'up and the clutch is going out. Just wondering how hard it would be for me to change it( I have no experience other than changing oil on a car, I'm 17) and how much it would cost, if its even worth it. Once again sorry about the non-honda post, but I really don't know where else to ask.
Old 01-23-2004, 07:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Clutch (jerm001)

A clutch change at an auto shop usually costs around 300 dollars in labor, not including parts. I dont think anyone can actually tell you if its worth it to do something on your car, it all depends on if you want to put the money into it. Ive done a couple clutch changes; one on the 97 civic, one on a subaru impreza 2.5rs, and one on a 87 rx7. Since your talking about a pick-up I'm assuming its RWD. Changing out a rwd clutch isnt too bad as long as you are somewhat mechanically inclined. The biggest pain laying on your back and humping the tranny off and onto the engine. Other then that its all about removing bolts.