Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Clicking Sound in front Axle - Risk?

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2005, 06:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clicking Sound in front Axle - Risk?

I have a 1991 Honda Civic. It gives out a clicking sound from the left axle while making a right turn. I understand that it is because of the torn boot which might have damaged the axle CV.
I need to use this car only for next 3 months (around 2500 miles). I wanted to know if I can avoid the expenssive replacement of the CV. Is there a potential danger in driving the vehicle while it is making a clicking sound? I useally drive on the interstate. If there is no risk, I can live with the clicking sound.
Please share your experiences.
Old 01-03-2005, 06:57 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Clicking Sound in front Axle - Risk? (amolm)

i have no experience but i would say go for it. My friend has a ripped CV boot on his prelude and has been driving around for the last 1.5 months with no problem but that horrible noise. Good luck
Old 01-03-2005, 07:27 AM

The clicking sounds is that of the ball bearings hitting one another as they turn in rotation of the driveshaft and turn. There's no way to tell how long it will last...I've seen cars go close to a year without issue I've seen cars go for 2 days. Primarily it depends upon how much u stress it. i.e. make smoother slow turns. Also if you can do the work yourself, a new boot shouldnt cost more than @ $30. You could just pack it with grease and change the boot for added safety. If you cannot do the work yourself then at least try and pack in some grease to help decrease the wear potential...
Old 01-03-2005, 07:34 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Clicking Sound in front Axle - Risk? (StoneGold)