Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-del-sol-1992-2000-1/)
-   -   car wont start after it over heated. (https://honda-tech.com/forums/honda-civic-del-sol-1992-2000-1/car-wont-start-after-over-heated-3043166/)

freshCROOKS 04-02-2012 02:58 PM

car wont start after it over heated.

so my friend bought a 96 civic hatch the other day. We were driving it back have and it over heated (hour and a half of driving). Pulled Imy the gas station and I checked it out. No coolant what so ever. also found out that the thermostat wasn't working and was closed the whole time. We tried filling the radiator up with water and still no start. It had the cel on. 4 codes. Engine coolant temp sensor, catalytic converter, misfire in cylinder 1 and 3. It cranks but won't start.fuel pump is working. Idk what to check next. I'm kinda new at this and still trying to learn. where to i go from here? What else can I check? What can it possible be? PLEASE HELP!!!

dE.fUsEd 04-02-2012 03:00 PM

Re: car wont start after it over heated.

Ouch. Check the oil, what color is it?

Silvertune 04-02-2012 03:21 PM

Time for a new motor.

Bradshaw 04-02-2012 05:34 PM

yep check oil. if your coolant is all gone though, i'd say your motor is too. thats got blown headgasket written all over it

Cmoya07 04-02-2012 05:55 PM

thats why i never use water because it just boils out in the summer and freezes and cracks your block in the winter....always use anti-freeze

freshCROOKS 04-03-2012 09:46 PM

should I replace the head gasket or just get another motor.

freshCROOKS 04-03-2012 09:49 PM

Oil looks fine

furious94ls 04-03-2012 10:06 PM

Most likely it's done.

jbpnoman 04-03-2012 10:46 PM

The motor isn't scrap yet. Take the head off. Look for cracked cylinder walls. It's time to find out just how bad you guys screwed up that motor.

Voodoo7 04-03-2012 10:55 PM