Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Car noise + questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2011, 06:13 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Car noise + questions

I am a car beginner. I want help diagnosing this problem please so I can describe it to the mechanic a little better, and I have other questions too.

While driving my Honda civic automatic with a recently replaced engine and radiator, I started hearing this weird chirping/flapping noise (not squealing) whenever I stepped on the gas pedal. When the car shifts into higher gears the noise gets louder. There is little or no noise when not stepping on the gas pedal.

1. Is this frayed belt causing the noise? It's not the timing belt, but a belt lower than it. I tried looking in the service manual. Maybe it is the A/C belt? A strip of the top layer of the belt is peeling off and is frayed at the end. How big of a problem is this? Here is a picture:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/833/belt1l.jpg/

2. Should I not accelerate jerkily with a new engine? (50K miles, used Japanese engine) Will it be more likely to break a belt or something? Or would you do the opposite and push the engine as much as possible to bring out any problems while the engine is still under warranty?

3. The engine is still "under warranty" for parts and labor, so I will probably bring it back. Should I ask the mechanic about replacing anything else if I bring my car to him? The invoice of the original engine installation says the following parts have been replaced already: timing belt, thermostat with gasket, water pump, cam seal, crank seal, rear main seal, intake gasket, valve cover gasket, oil filter.

4. I am also wondering whether or not the AC stopped working after the engine got replaced, but it has always been weak. It it common for the AC to stop working after engine replacement, and is it easy to do AC work when doing engine work?