Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Can't identify right front noise (solved)

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2016, 09:11 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can't identify right front noise (solved)

Hi!
First off, I'm new to the Honda scene.. Yesterday I bought a 1997 Civic DX Coupe for $600, New Engine, Rad, Distributer, little rust but it's not a bad little whip!
I'm completely unfamiliar with Civics (Grew up working on British cars, owned and '95 F350 and a Fusion ... both failed me terribly)
I'm new to Manual transmissions but this one makes a weird noise, Comparable to when your reversing, just a little whine through 1st&2nd.
When I park it, push the clutch down and let off staying in neutral it starts to make a faint grinding/rattling noise, never noticed while driving and if I give it a small rev it goes away.
From what I've read around here it sounds like the Pilot Shaft bearing and Throwout bearing.
Neither sound is really noticeable unless you really listen, and the whining sound seems to come and go.
My questions are, Does it seem like I'm heading in the right direction?
How Long can I let it go like this? It will take me a week or two to get a clutch in as well as I figure I may as well do it all.
It made a 2 hour drive home with no issues at all.
Finally, how bad do these Honda dealers get you for? I'm planning on supplying the parts,
Thanks in advance for any help guys! I've been all over the internet and this forum seems to have a few great minds.

Last edited by SamChapman; 07-16-2016 at 10:52 PM. Reason: Typos.
Old 07-17-2016, 08:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 43 Likes on 21 Posts
Default re: 97 Civic DX - faint grinding/rattling noises from Transmission

Originally Posted by SamChapman
I'm new to Manual transmissions but this one makes a weird noise, Comparable to when your reversing, just a little whine through 1st&2nd.