Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

buying a 1992 Honda Civic VX, please help.

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2013, 09:45 AM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default buying a 1992 Honda Civic VX, please help.

Hey everyone, this is my first post so I hope I got it in the right area. I did a quick search for the VX model but didnt find what I was looking for. If I passed it up then please point me in the right direction. I am a newb at everything to do with Hondas so please bear with me.

Well now thats out of the way. I was wanting to have some help with a Honda that I am interested in buying. It is a 1992 Honda Civic. the VX model. The particular car I am looking at has 306,000 Miles and other then body rust, it seems to be in good condition. Now this is the closet car that I have found to me and it is 5 hours away, so Ill have to deal with it because I would like to have it now.

I am looking to find the BEST ways to make this car as fuel efficient as possible whether it be gutting parts out, like the AC and power steering. or putting aerodynamic parts on like a spoiler or diffuser.

I was also wanting to know what mods I can do to this car? Can I put a turbo and all that other jazz on and still get the same if not better gas mileage? If not then I dont want to do it, it was just an idea since I see so many Hondas with stuff on them.

I have read that the car averages 45 mpg, but that others have gotten theirs up to 70mpg. Can this car cruze at 70mph and still get good gas mileage?

Since the car has so many miles on it, would I need to do an engine rebuild? Or can I keep running the engine? The owner says the engine is in good condtion, that there was a new tranny put on 40,000 miles ago and that he has been good with upkeeping the regular maintenance on the car. And with the rust, it doesnt get me that much, I dont mind it. But eventually I would probably like to have it cleaned up. What can I do to repair that?