Building a commuter car

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2014, 08:36 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Building a commuter car

Hello!

I'm new to this forum, I wrote a "get to know me" post here
https://honda-tech.com/forums/introduce-yourself-162/how-i-got-honda-ended-up-here-3188155/

Here is the readers digest version. I work for an engineer, and I went to college and got my degree in automotive technology. I've restored both of my other cars (a 1984 Mercedes 300SD and an 83 Toyota Tercel 4WD) not complete restorations, but everything short sandblasting the paint off needless to say I've been around the block when it comes to cars. But I'm a complete noob when it comes to Hondas. I did replace the engine in my 2000 Civic EX coupe, as I inherited it from my step sister with a blown head gasket.

I joined the forum tonight to get y'all ideas for building a well balanced commuter car. I have other project cars, the Benz is as like new as you can get for a 30 year old daily driver, and the Tercel is still a work in progress. But I can't own a car and not play with it

I've been driving the Civic daily for about a month now and there are a few things I've got in the works and a few ideas I have kicking around that I thought I'd bounce off y'all.

First let me give you an idea of what I want out of the car. I want something that is fun to drive, yet can still go anywhere, while being good on gas. (i'm not talking hype-mileing or anything crazy) Pretty much what you'd expect form a new Civic.