Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Broken Bleeder Screws, Help PLEASE!

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2002, 11:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Broken Bleeder Screws, Help PLEASE!

Ok...It's my first time to bleed the brakes on my car, 97 Civic EX Coupe, and lo and behold, the bleeder screws in the drums are broken. The one's in the front caliper are good but not the drums. They are like gone, part of the screw is inside the wheel cylinder, the other half with the nipple is just gone. I never really looked at the brakes in the back, so I didn't really bother looking at the screws. Anyway, if I was to replace the wheel cylinders in the drums, will the wheel cylinder come off WITH the broken bleeder screw inside? Or does the screw have to be removed in order for the wheel cylinder to be removed? It's kind of impossible...it's down deep in the wheel cylinder...I have a Helm's, but it's not specific on whether you have to remove the bleeder screw or not to replace the cylinder...any help would be appreciated...Oh yeah, and thanks to that guy who replied to my other post about the drum-disc conversion...
Old 08-19-2002, 08:43 PM
CBR
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Broken Bleeder Screws, Help PLEASE! (Milano97)

Last time I checked, I believe the bleeder screw is part of the wheel cylinder assembly. It all comes out as one piece. The new wheel cylinder should come with a new bleer screw.

Word of advice before installing new wheel cylinder: Take the new bleeder screw out and put some antiseize on it. Screw it back in, then bleed your brakes.
Old 08-19-2002, 09:07 PM
rus

Man, it is a royal pain in the ***. I had a speed bleeder( :thumbdown snap on me in the left rear drum. It was a long night...