Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

I am looking for a coupe, but which year?

Old 01-31-2010, 06:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I am looking for a coupe, but which year?

I have been trolling around this forum for a few months now and I have decided to finally get a Civic.

I currently have a MkIV Volkswagen Jetta, please no flaming. So I decided to sell it in order to purchase my coupe.

Now my problem is this, which model and which year? My friend has a 99' Hatchback and it is a very nice car, but I prefer the look of the coupe better. Should I try and find a 99' or 00' Si, start off with a B16. I would not like to go lower than a 95' because I heard that under 95' bigger problem with rust and mechanical. So it is basically 95' and up. Is there any difference between the 95' or 96' or 97' or 98' or 99' coupe civics?

Any information on this matter would be appreciated. I would most likely put a Turbo on the coupe unless I get the 99' or 00' Si in that case I would keep it stock.
Old 01-31-2010, 06:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: I am looking for a coupe, but which year?

YEAH GET A 99
Old 01-31-2010, 06:56 PM
Honda-Tech Member

haha no worrys quite a few people on her are on VW Vortex I personally wish for an R32 golf.
but (96-00) were the same body style. 95 was a transision year which some better options showed up and better rust prevesion but the 96-00 visually look the same. The differences are the rear bumber and the front end is slightly different.
the 96-98 front

99-00 civic front end

96-98 Rear

99-00 rear
Old 01-31-2010, 06:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I'm partial to the 96-98 front end, but I'm biased. An Si would definitely be cool but I think they're a bit overpriced, but if you love them, I say get one of those.
Old 01-31-2010, 07:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by D Griff