Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

b18c5 into eg..searched 2 hrs.. what I know so far.

Old 10-31-2004, 12:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default b18c5 into eg..searched 2 hrs.. what I know so far.

Alright I am sure I am gonna get a ton of $#!t for this from everyone but anyway.
I have searched for approx. 2 to 3 hours today on swapping in a b18c5 into a eg(92 civic si).

What I know so far-
-Basically that I need all the integra motor mounts(94-01).
-That the type R harness should plug right into the shock tower plug(jdm may require stretching the wires or rerouting.
-That a chipped p28 from Kenji is my best bet.
-To run the factory a/c compressor I will need a 95 del sol vtec(dohc)p54 ac compressor bracket?(is this correct?)
-Use shift linkage off of b series integra.
-Murphy's law always applies to me and many other techs(I know first hand, I do it for a living at a Mercedes-Benz dealer.)

What I need to know.
-This is a 2000 type r motor(japanese motor).Will I run into problems with the 36 mm axles instead of the 32mm?
-Will I need to do anything with the radiator hoses since this is a different motor?
-Will a factory p28 run the b18c5 until i can get a chipped one?
-I am also guessing the type r header won't bolt up to the factory (hollowed) cat?(this gives me a reason to run open header for a bit YAY!!!..I did this once in an 88 rx-7 after I got a header... it was so loud it made you nausious, but was cool to drive under bridges and through tunnels.
-Will I be able to keep my power steering or will I need to go to the junkyard to get a power steering pump off a b series engine, and what car would I need to scavenge it from?
-Anything else I am missing?

Sorry to post this, it's like I feel bad posting it but it is my first swap in a Honda.
I imagine it can't be much harder than dealing with German cars.