Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

b16 stutters @ low rpm, exhaust smells weird

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2013, 02:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default b16 stutters @ low rpm, exhaust smells weird

** B16 SHAKES/STUTTERS WHEN VERY LIGHT THROTTLE IS APPLIED (ENOUGH TO MAINTAIN SPEED) - USUALLY DOWNHILL OR FLAT SURFACE **

Hi forum. I'm new here, but have had my car for a few months. I've done general maintenance on the car and its been good so far (timing belt, brakes, spark plugs) but recently some weird stuff has been happening. I'll preface this by saying I have been putting in 94 for the last few weeks but have just filled it up with 91. First of all, the exhaust smells weird. I'm not a mechanic so I can't tell whether its rich/lean, but I know it smells different. Almost like a GM exhaust smell or something like that. Secondly, generally in first or second gear and low rpm, when I am trying to maintain my speed the car will jump back & forth, and the exhaust will go 'put put putputput put put putput', it almost sounds as though it's misfiring. I've put in injector cleaner, that did nothing. I've read that it may have something to do with my throttle body/part of the fuel rail/injection system? I'd like to know where I should start fixing/cleaning things and if there is actually something wrong. I'll also add that my ignition timing has not been properly adjusted yet (just went by ear), so I probably sound like an idiot for writing all this when it could be as simple as that, but it was running fine on 94 before. Thanks guys, looking forward to a response.

Last edited by em1goesbwah; 09-04-2013 at 10:14 PM.
Old 09-03-2013, 02:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: b16 stutters @ low rpm, exhaust smells weird

Also a note, i was getting CEL 1, 20, and 36 about 2 weeks ago. Haven't gotten them since, but I thought I'd add that. Thanks guys,
Old 09-03-2013, 03:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member