Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

How to replace exhaust manifold gasket? Minor exhaust leak after removing 'pipe A'

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2012, 01:59 PM
Trial User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to replace exhaust manifold gasket? Minor exhaust leak after removing 'pipe A'

1999 Civic SE (Canada) D16Y7 (bone stock)
I'm a beginner so apologies if this question is very basic...

In order to remove the oil pan to replace a leaking oil pan gasket I had to remove part #8 ('pipe A' in the parts manual) in this photo:

I purchased replacement gaskets #20 and #11 to fit when reinstalling the pipe. #20 went on fine, but I couldn't figure out how to replace #11 which is the gasket that goes in between 'pipe A' and the exhaust manifold. Here's what the replacement gasket looks like:

Since I couldn't figure out how to remove the old gasket, I reinstalled the pipe without replacing gasket #11. After starting the car, I noticed a slight leak in this location, so obviously this gasket needs to be replaced. Is there a trick to removing the existing gasket? It looked like it was permanently attached in there. I tried prying it out with a pick set as well as using a heat gun with no luck.

Something else that I wasn't sure about: the existing (installed) gasket was totally flat and flush against the pipe - I'm guessing that this replacement (round) gasket gets squashed when installing - is that right? In other words, I do have the correct gasket, don't I? It's part number is 18212-SF4-000 (packaged as Bosal BSL1640526).

Thanks in advance for any help and advice for this noob
Old 04-25-2012, 03:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: How to replace exhaust manifold gasket? Minor exhaust leak after removing 'pipe A