Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Automatic Vs. Manual

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2006, 01:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Automatic Vs. Manual

Well Im new to Hondas. After rolling my blazer, im now forced to get a little car. Plus they will be better on gas

My question is, Is a Manual faster than a Auto? Im guessing it is, but what kind of preformance hit am I going to take If i get a auto?

I perfer a manual, but there's a nice auto Civic sitting down at a local car lot, and its tempting. Guess im just getting impatent on getting a new ride.

Thank You everyone!
Old 05-08-2006, 01:16 PM

Im never going back to auto. Manual ftw do it
Old 05-08-2006, 01:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Automatic Vs. Manual (shellshock)

A lot of people are prolly gonna tell you to wait and get a manual cause they are better on gas + performance. You could get the Auto if you like but they are not as good as the Manual. You could always do a auto to manual swap by searching for the parts in the Honda Marketplace for sale forum. Hope I helped!
Old 05-08-2006, 01:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Automatic Vs. Manual (madcrossover)

Actually, autos are better for gas mileage if you do a lot of Hwy driving, as the revs are kept lower at speed.

Old 05-08-2006, 01:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Actually I'm fairly sure that a 5 speed would be better than a 4-speed auto. Why? If you have 5 gears as opposed to 4, you most likely will be at a lower gear ratio at any given speed.

Depends on the gear ratios.

To answer your question though, get a manual. It's more fun, easier to fix, more reliable, better on gas (in most cases), and isn't lame like auto
Old 05-08-2006, 01:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Automatic Vs. Manual (shellshock)

Go with a manual. You can see here where this poor guy was attacked for wanting an auto, haha. https://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1620313
Old 05-08-2006, 01:47 PM