Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

automatic ls/vtec or b20/vtec into eg

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2005, 09:10 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default automatic ls/vtec or b20/vtec into eg

Before I get a flood of posts telling me to do a manual swap, please respect the fact I would like to keep my car automatic. I totally understand a lot of the performance is lost when mating an engine with an automatic tranny (about 30% I have heard), but I have reasons for wanting to keep it as it is. It is my daily driver, and while I want some speed, I don't need it to be outrageous. My car is also more show than it is for racing, but I wanted to put something in to make it a little quicker and fun to drive.

Also, I have searched through this forum for a couple days before writing up this post. I found some useful information, but there was little relating to my exact query. I am a complete newb when it comes to swaps and especially the pros and cons of each engine, so you will have to bare with me. (Any help with any aspect would be greatly appreciated.)

That said, I am looking to swap in a b18 or b20 into my 95 eg coupe. From what I have read to add vtec to either engine I would be wanting to put a b16 head onto the block of either the b18 or b20. As for transmission, as I want to keep it auto, I was thinking of using one out of a 4th gen teg. I understand that most of honda's auto tranny's are pretty weak, so I would be getting it built up (including a new torque converter) before I put the swap in. The only two other options that I know I have available are a b18c auto tranny or a b16 auto tranny. As both of these are only available in Japan, I would rather stay away incase I end up blowing one and needing some special parts.

I am not interested in any heavy body modifications to get my swap in, so if one of the options, either the b18 or b20 require them I will not consider that choice.