Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Anyone ever run stretched tires on an EG hatch?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2010, 08:04 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone ever run stretched tires on an EG hatch?

im sorry if this has been covered a million times. I'm new to the honda forums, i've been part of the VW forums for quite some time where poke and stretched tires are all the craze over there. It seems no one does this on the EG. I understand why no one does it in the front but does anyone do it in the back? and if so, pics? thanks
Old 04-28-2010, 08:22 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Anyone ever run stretched tires on an EG hatch?

a lot of preludes and stuff do it with wide rims that have low offsets, like ssr's. theres a thread about it somewhere, they all run camber and tuck em like the dubbers. its more of a v dub thing to do

welcome to honda! another v dubber finally making the right choice ;D
Old 04-28-2010, 08:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member

LOL! There are tons of people running tires like this. Check out the Appearance/Cosmetic forums. That's where you will find the most threads on this topic.
Old 04-28-2010, 08:44 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I "assume" when you guys say running "stretched" tires you mean a tire with a very short sidewall height? Just asking to make sure that's what this is about.
Old 04-28-2010, 10:04 AM
Honda-Tech Member

im getting some new rotas with a 195/50, bc i dont know much about tire stretching, and when its crazy slim, i think it looks weird. doesnt it reduce life of the tire as well? im lookin to have dd that doesnt need new tires every 3 months lols
Old 04-28-2010, 10:16 AM
Master Detailer

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts

^^Just an example a 195 tire on say a 7 inch wide wheel, that should have a 205 would cause a stretch. smaller tire on a wide wheel.