Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

another one of those is it worth it thread d vs b

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2010, 03:19 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default another one of those is it worth it thread d vs b

yes i searched and yes i realize the b16 is a better motor. however everybody's situation is different so i turn to ht for opinions. i'm a college student so the price will affect the outcome a lot. i have a 95 hb with the stock d15b7, i want something with more oomph, not looking to do a crazy n/a or f/i build. i know if i had unlimited money a b16/b18 would be a good motor but i'm ballin on a budget. what i'm looking for is this:

-cheap
-decent power
-fuel economy

would a d16z6 be what i'm looking for vs a b16? my car is a dd so i just want something that has a little power to make getting around easier, should i just get the d16z6 and call it a day? or would saving for a b16 be worth it? my car probably won't ever see the track, nor will she be a dyno queen, just lookin for something to make getting around a little more fun. currently i'm leaning towards a d16z6 but i don't know much, so let me know what you guys think is better.

also another question, i come from the rsx family where generally there was just hondata reflash and kpro, is "chipping" the ecu the same thing as reflashing? or would i have to buy hondata s300 (or equivalent) when i swap my engine?
Old 04-25-2010, 04:44 AM
Resident Gearhead

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: another one of those is it worth it thread d vs b

Originally Posted by dinged
-cheap
-decent power
-fuel economy
A B16 is all of those, although you'll have to look around for a good deal on one. Companies like Hmotors sell them for WAY too much IMO. There is some cost involved and a little modification needed to perform the swap.