Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Aftermarket Replacement for Cat Converter

Old 08-12-2010, 04:33 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aftermarket Replacement for Cat Converter

d16y7, 98 civic.

My CEL is throwing the fun and exciting P0420. According to my mom (who owned it before me) the mechanic "removed" the cat converter for some unknown reason. I pop the hood and I can still see "shell" of the converter under the exhaust manifold.

Anyway, this wonderfully asinine state of Arizona has the ever exciting emissions test and will NOT take it in the shop until the CEL is off.

What I was wondering is, are there any aftermarket straight pipes or anything I can buy INSTEAD of replacing the cat converter?

I'm also confused as to whether or not the car has 2 cat converters, or just 2 o2 sensors. I can't understand why they would put 2 cat con. on a car, but maybe I'm just an exhaust noob.

Any ideas? Suggestions?

Thanks so much

E
Old 08-12-2010, 04:46 PM
B*a*n*n*e*d

Default Re: Aftermarket Replacement for Cat Converter

What do you mean by "removed"?

If the shell is still there did he just get a rod and smash the screens and stuff out of the cat?

I don't know why the shop wouldn't take it if it's throwing a CEL but I've never lived in an emissions-crazed state.

If you just take off the battery lead for a couple seconds to reset the ecu does the CEL come on instantly or will it stay off for a little bit? If so just reset the lead right before you go to the shop so they see the code is clear and then have them start work
Old 08-12-2010, 04:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by TwoFacedCustoms

If the shell is still there did he just get a rod and smash the screens and stuff out of the cat?

I don't know why the shop wouldn't take it if it's throwing a CEL but I've never lived in an emissions-crazed state.