Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

advice, wanting to build quick, reliable eg/ek daily driver

Old 04-02-2003, 10:55 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default advice, wanting to build quick, reliable eg/ek daily driver

Hi

A few weeks ago I crashed my 90 crx that i've been building for 2 years. Amazingly, im not at all hurt, and the guy who caused the wreck has decent insurance. So, im looking to build a new car. I have always been drawn towards the eg and ek hatches, so I plan on purchasing one with the settlement money. This is my question:

I wish to build my car not only to be quick, but comfortable and reliable as well (don't we all) I would like to have a/c, a smooth comfortable ride (albeit, modified suspension) and a strong, reliable motor that will withstand occasional 9 hour road trips. This doesn't seem like its going to be too hard, but im wondering what the best combo is for my purposes. IE, eg hatch w/ an stock LS motor, EK w/ B16 etc.

I am prepared to spend a decent amount of money, but I want to know what, and possibly where to buy what I need. I have shopped, both online and otherwise, for motors before - but I really want to make sure and buy the most "stock-like" setup I can get, rather than some burnt out pos from a unreputable dealer. Like I said, I must have A/C (I live and deliver pizzas in new orleans, LA and I wouldnt mind having power steering. To make things even more difficult, I want upgraded handling, but absolutely must have a good ride, the streets in garden district new orleans are unbelievably rediculous. Its not even a matter of comfort, its a matter of the streets destroying a bouncy, crappy riding vehicle.