Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

ac still not running after installing a new condenser fan

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2009, 10:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ac still not running after installing a new condenser fan

i installed a condenser fan for my ac bec. the mechanic sais that ihe fan was causing a shortage. i installed it and it worked for the whole then it stopped when i used it the next day. the problem hasnt been solved yet. theres stil a shortage somewhere. the condenser fan fuse keeps blowing up. it tried putting a higher number fuse and it would run for a while then it blows. one thing i notice when i put a new fuse, before it blows, while my engine is running and the ac is running fine for a little bit, while the engine is on standby and running and it starts to "idle"- (not really if thats the right term, it seems like the engine is starting to relax) im still learning so be nice. thats when the fuse blows. the only tools i have at home is voltage tester and a test leads. is there anyway of determining the problem with the tools i have. what do you think is the cause? thanks

its for a 1997 civic ex.
Old 08-18-2009, 11:33 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 44 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Re: ac still not running after installing a new condenser fan

Is hood fuse #56 or dash fuse #17 blowing?
Old 08-18-2009, 12:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

If a fuse is blowing you need to fix the wiring. You already stated there is a shortage now you gotta hunt it down.
Old 08-18-2009, 12:08 PM
Honda-Tech Member

i dont know if its 17 or 56 but its the fuse located at the hood beside the battery. its uses a 20 fuse for condenser fan. problem is i dont know how to hunt down wiring. i can only do replace and add parts, mostly not electrical.
Old 08-18-2009, 12:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member