Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

ABS Light On?!

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2006, 09:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ABS Light On?!

I have searched and no luck, I am a newb to the Honda World. Yesterday I just purchased a mint condition 94 EX civic coupe with 64k original miles. Adult owned and bone stock. Well it has been a dream all yesterday and today but I just left my apt for a bit and leave my driveway and notice that my ABS light is on and not going off unlike every other light on the dash. I pull down the street and turn the car off then back on and the ABS light is still on. My manual that came with the car just says the ABS light means the ABS quit working but does not explain what might be wrong. Any ideas would be helpful as I am learning this car. Thanks!
Old 07-09-2006, 09:04 PM

Default Re: ABS Light On?! (Purple94EX)

are you throwing a cel along with it? the cel will tell you more if it is on. if not i would take it to honda ASAP.

Edit: cel=CEL=check engine light
Old 07-09-2006, 09:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: ABS Light On?! (Muttly)

ABS light gives information out just as a check engine light does...

i took it to a friend at pep boys and he hooked it up to the obdII scanner and told me my problem...

anyway.. just start by cleaning the sensors and checking fuses...

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by Muttly &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">are you throwing a cel along with it? the cel will tell you more if it is on.
Edit: cel=CEL=check engine light</TD></TR></TABLE>

not sure but i dont think this is the case... as far as a I know, ABS is its own independant system just like SRS.. but mabye not
Old 07-10-2006, 04:39 AM

CEL is not on, its just the ABS light. Odd it just came on all of a sudden. I am about to get in the car and hopefully it has gone off.
Old 07-10-2006, 08:26 AM
Honda-Tech Member